(Album) Tate Kobang – Silent Waves | Baltimore Artist Recognition @Tate_kobang

Tate Kobang released his highly anticipated new mixtape “Silent Waves.”


Tate Kobang has captivated imaginations across the nation ever since he broke through in late 2015 with his “Bank Rolls” remix.

He has been suspiciously silent since he released a pair of mixtapes, Since We’re Here and Lord of da Trenches, last April. He returns this morning in glorious fashion with a new 11-track mixtape called Silent Waves.


“Actions have proven to be more effective and appreciated when they are seen, but not heard about,” Kobang says of the tape. “I’m a firm believer of moving quiet and making impactful moves. Silent Waves isn’t just a mixtape title — it’s more of a lifestyle.”

Back in early July, one of my conversations with Tate Kobang, a Baltimore rapper I’ve known and listened to for a couple years, ended with the kind of vague, tantalizing hint of big business dealings that would be familiar to anyone who’s talked to a rapper. “I’m going up to New York to talk to some people, trying to keep it on the hush.” A week later, it became clear that it wasn’t just talk when pictures surfaced of the 23-year-old MC standing next to music industry legend Lyor Cohen, celebrating Tate Kobang’s signing to 300 Entertainment.

300 Entertainment, the rap powerhouse distributed by Atlantic Records and founded by veteran executives including Cohen and Kevin Liles, has been snapping up regional rap heroes left and right over the last couple years, making Migos, Fetty Wap, and Young Thug household names in the process. And as Liles, a Baltimore native who came up on the city’s nascent hip-hop scene in the ‘80s, told Tate Kobang, “We finally got someone from Baltimore that we can put chips into.” The news of Kobang’s signing comes amidst a rash of Baltimore rappers hooking up with national labels: Young Moose inked a deal with Boosie’s Badazz Entertainment this month, biker Chino travels with Meek Mill’s Dreamchasers Records, and King Los recently released an album on RCA.

01. Dis Side (Prod. By Trauma Tone)
02. So Many (Prod. By Yung Lan)
03. Tell Em (Prod. By Money Montage and Chris Rose)
04. Yeah (Prod. By Geniro Beats)
05. Chirp Chirp (Prod. By TGO Soze and Casa Di)
06. Days Inna North (Prod. By YG! Beats)
07. Skert Skert (Prod. By Millz Douglas)
08. Bad For Me (Prod. By Honorable Court)
09. Move Your Body (Prod. By Lil Zen Beats)
10. Like Dat (Prod. By Geniro Beats)
11. Got It In Me Feat. Young Moose (Prod. by D Dae)

By Al Shipley ( Fader )

By Kristen Bromiley ( HNHH )

About Author /

Connecting The World One Post At A Time. Dope Graphic Designer and Website Developer. Photoshop , FCP X , Logic , FL Studio , HTML , CSS , PHP some of my dope things i do :).

Start typing and press Enter to search